Sherlock

This week I’m going back to the reading aspect of this blog and I want to talk a little bit about Sherlock Holmes. Everyone knows a little bit, if not a lot about Sherlock Holmes already, if not from reading the books then by watching the t.v. show or movies. This week I started reading one of the books for an assignment and it has been my first taste of the literature side of Sherlock’s world. So far (I haven’t finished reading it yet) I’ve found the book to be very interesting, gripping and entertaining. I wanted to take this space to talk about the ways the characters differ in the books than in the t.v. show or movies. First and foremost, the t.v. characters differ greatly as they are set in a modern time, and have different detective abilities thanks to technology. In the film adaptations, starring Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law, the characters are living in a similar world to where they were written into originally and they behave in similar ways, except for the added comedic aspect for cinema. Overall, I think that all the media adaptations, that I have seen, of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s works have been very good efforts and deserve all the recognition that they get.

What’s your favourite version of Sherlock? Do you agree with me or do you think I’m just talking nonsense? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

