Is Dorian Gray real life now?

Hi guys, good to see you again.
This week I’ve been reading Oscar Wilde’s ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray’ as I’m using it for an essay. I’d read the book before but I’m reading it in a lot more detail this time and pulling out lots of quotes to use. About halfway through the book, I started thinking about how the whole theme and moral of the story seems awful similar to the way modern day celebrities are living. I know this has probably been said many times before but I haven’t read it anywhere else so bear with me. Take Justin Bieber for example. The young, pretty, adored by millions, teen heartthrob. Then he started getting older and and started lashing out and just being an all around annoyance. Now don’t get me wrong, this could just be him being your average early-20’s guy, just on a much bigger scale. Or is he living in fear of loosing his adorned looks that made him famous, similar to the way Dorian acted in the same situation. There are so many other celebrities this could be applied to but Bieber seems the most relevant and honestly the most know.
What do you think? Is the comparison there or am I just talking nonsense? Let me know, and I’ll see you back here next week.

Leave a Reply

