Housekeeping

One of the works I read for a class this week was Marilynne Robinson’s “Housekeeping”. Though I still haven’t finished the book yet, I’ve so far found it enjoyable and interesting. If you’ve not heard of the book, like I hadn’t two weeks ago, it focuses on a dysfunctional family of women living in a small house on the edge of a lake in the town of Fingerbone, somewhere in the south of the United States.

Not to give too much away, (massive spoiler alert), but towards the end of the novel two of the main characters, Ruth and Sylvie, cross a railroad bridge to the other side of the lake and go to start their new life. Though in their new town and new jobs they are not really seen to really be there or to be real at all. It is thought that they died on their crossing of the bridge but that their spirits and souls live on again, while others say that they were dead in the first place and that it was only their souls that crossed to the new town.

What do you think? I personally think that they only died on the bridge, but that’s my opinion. Am I right? Am I wrong? Let me know in the comments and I’ll see you next week, as always.

BGmichigancentralsource

Leave a Reply

